
 FORM 628-16 
 
 APPLICATION TO BECOME A CERTIFIED DEALER 
 
 INSTRUCTIONS FOR FORM 628-16 
 
1.  Authority - This form must be completed by any broker-dealer who wishes to become a 
"certified dealer" under the Utah Money Management Act, Utah Code Ann. Section 51-7-1 et 
seq.,  (UMMA) and Rule 628-16 promulgated thereunder by the Utah State Treasurer's 
Office. 
 
2.  Application/Certification – This application is the same for certification and re-
certification.  Re-certification, if granted, runs from July 1 to June 30 of the following year. 
 Applications for re-certification are due on or before April 30 of each year and are 
delinquent as of June 1 of that year. 
 

a. The initial application for certification must be received on or before the last day 
of the month for approval at the following month’s Utah’s Money Management 
Council (the “Council”) meeting.  
b. All (re)certifications shall be effective upon acceptance by the Council.  
c. All (re)certifications not otherwise terminated shall expire on June 30 of each 
year, unless renewed. 
d. If an applicant applies after July 1, their certification will run until June 30 of the 
following year, not a year from initial application. 

 
3.  Format - Type all information.- If additional space is needed, use a blank sheet for each 
question and note the item  number at the top. 

 
a. Corporate Authority – Certificate of Good Standing or Certificate of 

Existence.  This document may be obtained from applicant’s state of 
incorporation and the State of Utah.  Applicant may also obtain this 
information from applicant’s Secretary of State or Department of 
Corporations. 
  
Foreign corporations seeking to do business in Utah must complete the 
“Application for Authority to Conduct Affairs for a Foreign Corporation.” This 
may be obtained on line at: 
 
 http://corporations.utah.gov/pdf/certauth.pdf 
 
This form must be submitted with applicant’s home state’s Certificate of 
Existence.  Processing time is 10 business days.  Applicant may contact the 
Division of Corporations to receive expedited service for 48 hour processing 
for an additional $75 at (801) 530-4849.  Upon completion and 
acceptance of “Application for Authority to Conduct Affairs for a 
Foreign Corporation,” applicant will need to request and receive from 



Utah Division of Corporations a Certificate of Existence to submit with 
their application. 

 
b. Account Documents – All account documentation is required to be 

provided with this application, including those that require signatures by a 
treasurer when engaging in business with the applicant. 

 
i). Account documentation shall not include a mandatory arbitration 
or mediation clause.  Any customer agreement shall provide that suit 
may be litigated in a Utah court and applicable Utah law shall apply. 

 
ii.)  Affidavit of Knowledge of the UMMA requires the signature of a 
resident principal.  If this person would also like to be included on the 
list of persons who may do business with a Utah public treasurer, 
they must also submit their name under the list of agents. 

 

 
4.  Financial Statements - Where information is requested on financial statements of 
applicant, refer to Rule 628-16 for more detail on the requirements of such statements.  It is 
expected that most applicants, being registered already as a broker-dealer in Utah, will have 
previously supplied financial statements to the Utah Securities Division.  It is expected that 
statements filed pursuant to the application to become a certified dealer will be substantially 
the same. 
 
5.  Definitions - "Certified dealer", "public treasurer" and other terms in this application have 
the same meaning as in the Utah Money Management Act. 
 
6.  Submission of Applications - Applications shall be delivered to the Utah Securities 
Division, 160 East 300 South, 2nd Floor, P.O. Box 146760, Salt Lake City, Utah  84114-
6760.  Certification, if granted, runs from July 1 to June 30 of the following year.  Applications 
for recertification are due on or before April 30 of the year. 
 
7.  Identification - Where the form requires the name of any individual or firm, also include 
the CRD number. 
 
8.  Amendments - Applicant must update this application promptly by submitting 
amendments whenever the information on file with the Division changes.  Complete only the 
items requiring amendment and submit to the Division. 
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 APPLICATION TO BECOME A CERTIFIED DEALER 
 
 
1.    Name of Applicant: 
 
                                                                                                                         CRD No. 
 
2.    Primary Reporting Dealer; 
 
APPLICANT IS           / IS NOT             A PRIMARY REPORTING DEALER. 
 
(Attach proof of status as a primary reporting dealer recognized by the Federal Reserve 
Bank, if applicant is a primary reporting dealer.  Such proof may be in the form of a copy of a 
letter, certificate, receipt, etc., indicating such status.) 
 
3.  Office address:  The address of applicant's principal office: 
 
  
_________________________________________________________________________ 
________________________________________________________________________ 
_______________________________________________________________________ 
_________________________________________________________________________ 
 
                            
4.    Resident Office and Principal:  (This item applies only to applicants who are NOT 
primary reporting dealers.) 
 
      The address of applicant's office located in Utah is: 
_________________________________________________________________________ 
_______________________________________________________________________ 
_______________________________________________________________________ 
_______________________________________________________________________ 
_______________________________________________________________________ 
 
 
    The name of the resident principal in that office is: 
 
                                                                                                          CRD# ___________
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5.   Registration with the Utah Securities Division: 
 
     Each of the following is registered, or an application for registration is pending, with the 
Securities Division: 
 

a.  Applicant:                          YES                   NO 
 

b.  Resident Principal: 
    (if applicant is not a primary report dealer): 
                                        YES                   NO 

 
c.  Agents: 
    (all agents who are required to by registered in Utah): 
                                       YES                    NO 

 
6.    Corporate Authority: 
 

           Copy of Certificate of Good Standing, obtained from applicant's state of 
incorporation, is attached* 

 
           Copy of applicant's Certificate of Authority to do business in Utah (for 

applicants who are not incorporated in Utah) is attached*   
 
 *Please see 3.a from the instruction page of this form to complete this section. 

 Applicant must: 1). Submit “Application for Authority to Conduct Affairs for a 
Foreign Corporation” to do business in Utah (for applicants who are not 
incorporated in Utah) by going to: http://corporations.utah.gov/pdf/certauth.pdf 
and then; 2). Request the “Certificate of Good Standing” or “Certificate of 
Existence” from the Utah Division of Corporations.  This may be obtained from 
either the website, www.corporations.utah.gov, or via mail or telephone. 

 
7. Financial Statements:  (This item applies only to applicants who are NOT primary 

reporting dealers.) 
 

           Copies of financial statements are attached which: 
 

           Are prepared by an independent certified public accountant in accordance with 
GAAP; 

 
           Show the required minimum net capital of at least five per cent (5%) of 

aggregate debt balances; 
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                 Show a total capital of either (check item applicable): 

 
                $10,000,000, OR 

 
                $25,000,000 (for applicant which is a wholly-owned subsidiary) 

 
 
8.  Government Securities Act Registration: 

 
                Applicant is registered under the Government Securities Act of 1986 

 
(Attach proof of registration under the Government Securities Act.  Proof may be in the form 
of a copy of a certificate, letter or other document evidencing such registration.) 
 
9.  Account documents: 
 

           Attached are copies of all agreements, contracts, or other documents which 
applicant requires or intends to require be signed by a public treasurer to open 
or maintain with applicant.  Documents comply with the following requirements: 
 (Note in the blanks the page or paragraph number where the required 
provision may be found, where applicable.) 

 
            No mandatory arbitration or mediation provisions 

 
             In case of dispute, the public treasurer-customer may select the forum for      

  dispute resolution 
 

            Suit may be litigated in a Utah court, at the option of the public treasurer, and  
  Utah law shall apply. 

 
10.  Knowledge of Money Management Act: 
 

         Attached is a signed, sworn and notarized statement signed by each of the 
following persons, indicating that such person is familiar with the Money 
Management Act and rules: 

 
           Resident principal (if required) 

 
           Any agent who has contact with a public treasurer or its account 

 
11.  Fee: 
 
                 Enclosed is a non-refundable fee of $500, payable to the Utah Securities Division. 
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12.  Execution: 
 

The undersigned and applicant hereby irrevocably appoints the director of the Utah 
Securities Division and its successors in such office its attorney in the state of Utah upon 
whom may be served any notice, process or pleading in any action or proceeding against 
applicant arising out of or in connection with the offer or sale of securities or out of violation 
of the securities laws of Utah, specifically, but not limited to, the UMMA; and the undersigned 
does hereby consent that any such action or proceeding against it may be commenced in 
any court of competent jurisdiction and proper venue within Utah by service of process upon 
said officer with the same effect as if the undersigned was organized or created under the 
laws of Utah and had lawfully been served with process in Utah. 
 

The undersigned, under penalty of perjury, deposes and says that he/she has 
executed this form on behalf of and with the authority of said applicant.  The undersigned 
and applicant represent that the information and statements contained herein, including 
exhibits attached hereto and other information filed herewith are current, true, and complete. 
 The undersigned and applicant further represent that to the extent any information 
previously submitted is not amended, such information is currently accurate and complete. 
 
Name of Applicant:_______________________________   Date:_____________________ 
 
 
BY:_________________________________________________________________
 Signature and Title 
 
 
Subscribed before me this                  day of                                          , 
 
20    , by ______________________________________________________________ 
County of                                       State of ________________________                               
                            
My commission expires                        . 
 
 
 
 



 Form 628-16   
Page 5 

 
 AFFIDAVIT 
 OF 
 KNOWLEDGE OF MONEY MANAGEMENT ACT 
 
The undersigned being first duly deposes, under penalty of perjury, and says that he/she has 
read and understands the provisions of the UMMA, and rules promulgated thereunder, 
particularly the provisions relating to: 

(1) authorized investments as enumerated by Section 51-7-11(3) of that Act and rules 
thereunder, and 
(2) investment objectives of the public treasurer, as enumerated in Section 51-7-
17(2)(a) of that Act and rules thereunder. 
 

________________________________________ 
Resident Principal 
 
Agents:      Branch address: 
_______________________________________________________________________ 
 
_______________________________________________________________________ 
 
_______________________________________________________________________ 
 
_______________________________________________________________________ 
 
_______________________________________________________________________ 
 
_______________________________________________________________________ 
 
_______________________________________________________________________ 
 
_______________________________________________________________________ 
 
_______________________________________________________________________ 
 
_______________________________________________________________________ 
 
_______________________________________________________________________ 
 

 
 

Subscribed  before me this             day of                     , 20    ,  
by                                                         .  County of                                              
State of                                                         .  My commission expires                   . 
 



 

 

 

COVER SHEET FOR APPLICATION TO BECOME A CERTIFIED DEALER 

(TO BE ATTACHED TO FORM 628-16 WHEN CERTIFYING/RECERTIFYING) 

 

 

This application is for the fiscal year July 1, ________  to June 30, ___________ . 

 

Broker/Dealer 

________________________________________________________________ 

 

Name, title, and phone number of person the state may contact with questions 

regarding this application: 

 

_______________________________________________________#_________________ 

 

Address of person the state may contact with questions regarding this application: 

 

 

 

 


